The Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction

The Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction

The Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction (SFDRR) was adopted at the Third United Nations World Conference on Disaster Risk Reduction held in Sendai, Japan, in 2015. The agreement was adopted after a review of the previous framework, the Hyogo Framework for Action (HFA) 2005-2015, and a series of multi-stakeholder consultations in which local and regional governments were represented through the Global Taskforce of Local and Regional Governments.

Expanding on the HFA, the SFDRR takes into consideration the risk of:

  • sudden and slow onset disasters
  • frequent and sporadic disasters
  • small and large-scale disasters
  • disasters caused by natural or human-induced hazards  
  • environmental, technological and biological hazards

The Sendai Framework aims to guide disaster risk management at all levels of government, as well as across and within different sectors.

It sets out seven targets and four priorities for action to facilitate "the substantial reduction of disaster risk and losses in lives, livelihoods and health and in the economic, physical, social, cultural and environmental assets of persons, businesses, communities and countries." (UN 2015a).

In order to achieve its targets, the Sendai Framework sets out four priority areas to guide action within and across sectors at local, regional, national and global levels. The priority areas provide guidance for governments and multi-level actors to act, according to their respective capacities and capabilities, in line with national laws and regulations.

Defining risk and resilience

Risk and resilience are defined by different organisations and sectors through different lenses and perspectives. This online course uses the terms as defined within the Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction (SFDRR) and the New Urban Agenda (NUA). 

Complete and Continue